St. Thomas College Re-accreditated at B++ Grade

  St. Thomas College, Bhilai has got re-accreditated with B++ grade by the National Assessment and Accreditation Council, Bangalore (with CGPA 2.77 out of 4.00). The three member NAAC peer team visited the college on 18th and 19th of September, 2017. The assessment is based on the standards of quality as set by NAAC.

The Manager of the College, His Grace Dr. Joseph Mar Dionysius, College Administrator Rev. Fr. George Mathew Ramban, Principal of the college, Dr. M. G. Roymon congratulated the teaching and non – teaching staff members for the re-accreditation of the college at B++ level.

Oath Taking Ceremony held at St. Thomas College Bhilai

St. Thomas College Bhilai held the formal ceremony of Oath taking Ceremony of conferring the authority and responsibility to the office Bearers and other representatives of Student Union Council.

The Chief Guest of the function was Mr.Shashi Mohan Singh Additional SP, Bhilai, District Durg CG.  In his speech he congratulated the nominated office bearers and advised them to take up their duties sincerely and with full commitment. He in his speech emphasized the nominated members to understand the value of their post and perform their responsibilities equally towards their academic and student union council, and keep the relationship of brotherhood with full efficiency. Professor Incharge.Student Union Council, Dr Debjani Mukherjee extended her warm welcome by her motivational speech for the elected members.

Principal Dr. M.G. Roymon Addressing the gathering, in his speech congratulated the newly nominated members and asked them to perform their duties and responsibilities sincerely and with full dedication. He further administered the oath of secrecy to the newly elected office bearers and class representatives. Miss. Simran Wadhwan  of M.Sc Microbiology  III Sem was sworn in as the (president )of the college. Miss.Manisha Chandra of M.Sc Chemistry I Sem as a (Vice-President), Miss D. Shrishti of BCA III Year as Secretary, this year the post of joint secretary was reserved for girl candidate and Miss Archita Shrivastava B.Sc Part II was elected as Joint Secretary, Mr. Shubham Busari of B.Com III Year as Cultural Secretary and Mr. Jeshal Gohil of PGDCA  as Sports Secretary. The volunteers of NCC/NSS and all other class representative also sworn in the oath.

Administrator of the college Rev. Fr George Mathew Ramban congratulated and blessed the newly nominated office bearers and Class representatives and said that they should uphold the values of the college and discharge their duties with utmost honesty with proper team work and leadership quality and also maintain harmonious relationship between students and teachers.  . The other members present were Dr. Ashok Mishra (Head Dept of Commerce),) Dr. James Mathew (Head Dept of Chemistry), Dr. Chanda Verma (Additional  .Head Dept of Chemistry) Dr. Sapna Sharma (Additional Head Dept of Commerce)   Asst Prof Incharge of Student Union  Council Dr. Shiny Mendonce , Dr.Suja Varghese, other staff members and students of the college. The program was successfully conducted by Dr. Sujata Koley and the president of Student union council -2017 Miss Simran Wadhwan Proposed Vote of thanks.

A talk on ‘Eco- Friendly House Plants”

Inauguration of activities of ‘BOTANICAL ASSOCIATION’ for the session 2017-18 was  conducted on 30th August ,2017 , with  the following events .

  1. Dr. Vinita Thomas presented a talk on ‘Eco- Friendly House Plants’.
  2. M.Sc. III Sem. Students prepared and conducted a quiz on ‘Basics of Botany’.



A Workshop- “Bioinformatics and the way forward” by the forum Genesis


The activities under the aegis of the forum GENESIS for the year 2017-18 is inaugurated by Dr. M.G. Roymon, Principal, St. Thomas College, with a lecture on “Preparation for CSIR NET” delivered by Dr. Shubha Diwan, Asst. Professor,  St. Thomas College on 11th August 2017.

A week long workshop on “Bioinformatics and the way forward” was organized in collaboration with NITZA Bioventure, Hyderabad from 06-11 September 2017. The students of B.Sc. Part III and PG students participated and got skilled with different tools of Bioinformatics. The training included Multiple sequence alignment, protein sequence alignment, molecular docking for application in drug discovery.


Pre alumni meet “Connect Over Coffee”

A Pre alumni meet “Connect Over Coffee” was held in the college on 26th August 2017. Dr. Prashant  Shrivastav( Department of Geology, Govt. V. Y. T. Autonomous P. G. I College, bhilai Durg) , guest of honour addressed the gathering.

Placement and Internship drive

The Department of Journalism and Mass Communication and the Placement Cell of St. Thomas College organised a Placement and Internship drive under  the ageis of  ‘Dainik Jagran’ group and its subsidiary ‘Nai Dunia’ on 18/8/2017.

GUEST LECTURE on the Topic- Catalysis by Nanoparticles “A Green Approach”.

A guest lecture was held on 19/08/2017 on the Topic- Catalysis by Nanoparticles  “A Green Approach” under the auspices of ACES.  The  Resource Person was  Dr. Subhash Banerjee ( Guru Ghasidas Central University , Bilaspur). He  emphasized the use of nanoparticle in various organic synthesis for a safe environmental impact. This was organised by the Department of Chemistry.


Activities of Eco club for the session 2017-2018, started with cleanliness drive in the college campus.

Zoological Forum “Terrestria” inaugurated

Zoological forum “Terrestria” inaugurated in St. Thomas College

The activities of Zoological forum Terrestria was inaugurated on  11th August 2017 in the Zoology Department of St. Thomas College, Bhilai. Dr. Madhulika Roy, Head, Department of Zoology, Govt. College, Uthai, was the chief guest in the function. Dr. M.G. Roymon, Principal of the college, presided over the function.

Speaking on the occasion, the chief guest advised the students to think from all sides and act accordingly so as to achieve knowledge and wisdom. In his presidential address, the principal commented that the activities of the forum help the students to showcase their talents and skills. The programme was conducted by Dr. Joyamma John, Convenor of the forum and Dr. Jayasree Balasubramanian, Head, Department of Zoology, briefed the about the activities of the forum.